• Ashley Elmquist

    A major thread in my life’s work has been caring for families, which includes work with children, parents, and whole families, having worked in volunteer and professional capacities with young children since I was 20 years old. Becoming a mother of two lively boys, I have found myself with a sincere passion for helping adults find healing to stop cycles of toxic stress. Growth from this type of work supports healthy relationships and parenting, and while I certainly have been motivated by my training, more inspiring is the healing I have experienced through years of my work in therapy. I know that healing is possible through therapy, and the modalities in which I have been trained give me hope for the possibilities of my clients to experience healing.

    My model of counseling incorporates the family system of the client as I do believe that most maladaptive behaviors originate with the family of origin. With a focus on the family system and the individual’s responsibility within it, I believe there is great hope for healing. Additionally, core skills that will always be a big part of my model will be the development of coping and regulation skills. With a great foundation of healthy coping and regulation skills, moving through trauma to healing becomes that much more possible.

    I earned my Ed.S. in Professional Counseling at Middle Tennessee State University, with dual concentrations in clinical mental health counseling and school counseling. I have clinical experience working with women experiencing substance addiction and as a school counselor in the public-school setting with students who have experienced trauma. Additionally, I am trained in Brainspotting. In what feels like a former life, I graduated from Belmont University with a degree in Public Relations and worked as a fashion and lifestyle publicist in New York City. I also worked professionally in ministry while living in New York, and since becoming a parent and relocating to East Nashville, I’ve multi-tasked dedicated work in the home, freelance work, and graduate school. I have been married for nine years and am a mom to two boys, ages 6 and 4. My favorite thing to do is explore interesting cities and landscapes, which leads us to fun new places local and afar, and I’m grateful to have a family that shares my sense of adventure.

    [email protected]